Quantcast

XC rims, ~420g or so. Thoughts?

sub6

Monkey
Oct 17, 2001
williamsburg, va
I'm looking for some new XC rims, I've been using these Velocity Synergy rims for almost two years now and they are beat to sh*t. The sidewalls appear to be made of tin, so anyway I need something different.

Me: 190lbs, Sport/Expert XC racer, disc brakes of course.....

So far, the only things I can really come up with are the Bontrager Mustang (can you even get those anymore?) and the Mavic 317, which seems a little too light at 395g. I really want something around 425 grams or so.

I don't really care for Sun rims, or Velocitys either.

Any ideas?

sub6

Monkey
Oct 17, 2001
williamsburg, va
yeah, 217s would be perfect. Although I'm not sure they'd be so hot with disc brakes, but I s'pose it's moot since I have no idea where to find those anymore.....

Serial Midget

Al Bundy
Jun 25, 2002
Fort of Rio Grande
I have pair of built 217s from 1997 oem on my Y-22. I have no idea what the gram weight is but they are lighter than my built 517s with non disk XT hubs. I would think you could find lighter disk specific rims - nothing wrong with retro but my 217s are rainbow anodized... :eek:

Mar 27, 2003
I've had very good luck with Mustangs. Almost through the sidewalls of a rear one right now. Lasted a whole summer of guiding, riding 2 times a day, and it was already over a year old. I have a front mustang on the rear of my SS. Almost 3 years old, still plenty of life left in the sidewalls. I must not brake as much on the SS. Only true it once or twice a year. Get some who knows what they are doing to build your wheel. Seems like a quality build is more important as long as you are using a halfway decent rim.

SuspectDevice

Turbo Monkey
Aug 23, 2002
Roanoke, VA
nothing wrong with the 317's at your heft.

Another very viable option would also be x3.1's the double wall/fore drilling process leaves those things extremely strong.

Serial Midget

Al Bundy
Jun 25, 2002
Fort of Rio Grande