Quantcast

07 reba race 100mm bottoming out half thru travel?

Feb 17, 2009
I have an 07 rockshox reba race fork. A week ago i lost my lock out feature and also the fork started bottoming out about half way thru its travel. I pulled the shock apart on the lock out compression side so far and can see nothing wrong. I had called sram tech and he told me it was the bottom compression damper seal and that alll my oil leaked out and that is what was causing the problem but the seal seams fine and all the oil was still present when i disassembled it. Im just wondering if anybody out there has any experience with air shocks or a similiar problem and maybe be able too post some suggestions as too what might be the problem, i am a newbie too fixing these kinds of problems. HELP PLEASE!

Racebike

Monkey
Jul 28, 2008
Sweden
Hi,

I have seen this problem on a lot of Reba forks of late.

The SRAM tech is indeed correct, the seal at the bottom has leaked. If you just pull out the Motion Control you will see oil, but not at the correct level.

Pull your outer legs off and I think you will find a substantial amount of oil in the outer right leg.

I don't remember the exact cause right now but I think the problem was the sizing of the nylon insert where the seal o-ring sits at the bottom of the right leg.

This should be a warranty issue so take it up with your LBS before you go all bananas with the spanner and wrench.

Feb 17, 2009