Quantcast

Evo.

Chimp
Feb 5, 2011
Pittsburgh
I am new to DH and I have a small "hook-up" at my local Trek dealer.

Main question, is the Session 8 worth the extra $1k over the Kona Operator DH? Both bikes have the same forks and rear shocks.

What would you choose?

Thanks!

aham73

Chimp
Jan 28, 2011
Philadelphia/ San Francisco
I've got a 2011 Session 8, and while I haven't spent much time on it yet, it performs very well. The ground was wet and snowy so I could only really ride XC with it...Which sounds absurd, but I rode a 39 lb 8" travel bike on an XC loop with no problems. Sure I walked it up the big climbs but still, it pedaled very well in the saddle, and even out. Was trying to get the fork and shock a bit more dialed in, but it was 32 degrees out and brand new. No biggie.

Never been very fond of Kona bikes, as the frames don't seem as stiff and well designed. But I'm no expert. With the Trek, you're buying arguably one of the best DH chassis out there. Stable, light, stiff, agile. It's got all the great features. The nice thing about the Session series is they work just as well for every day joes as they do for top level DH racers.

norbar

KESSLER PROBLEM. Just cause
Jun 7, 2007
Warsaw :/
Do you must buy local? There are nice builds on the rocky mountain flatlines wc 2010 on ebay. 2k and 4k both new.

IH8Rice

I'm Mr. Negative! I Fail!
Aug 2, 2008
Im over here now
keep the extra $1k in your pocket for lift tickets, gas and other expenses youll have with DH. the Operator will be more than enough for you.

TheTruth

Turbo Monkey
Jun 15, 2009
I'm waving. Can you see me now?