Quantcast

2013 lefty biz

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Sandwich, Jun 24, 2012.

1. Sandwich

Sandwich Pig my fish!
    Staff Member

Rep/Likes:
    68 / 829

Please register to disable this ad.

2. jdcamb

jdcamb Tool Time!

Rep/Likes:
    253 / 2,600
    They really do work well. I think over time the cost of ownership is to much though....

3. woodsguy

woodsguy gets infinity MPG

Rep/Likes:
    0 / 1
    Really? Cause I've been hammering my Lefty Max since 2005 (only bike but only light dh) and only had to rebuild it 3 times (around $100 each time). No failures of any kind, just routine stuff. I've heard of much more frequent maintenance with other forks.

They are a superior design to the "traditional" fork. People just don't like they way they look.

302 Found

Jump to 1:40
    302 Found

#3 -   Jun 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2012
  4. jacksonpt

jacksonpt Turbo Monkey

Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Interesting... had been wondering about Leftys...

5. sanjuro

sanjuro Tube Smuggler

Rep/Likes:
    7 / 0
    The Lefty was really revitalized in the 29er boom.

For one thing, initially it was just a stock 26 inch fork that was shimmed down from 110mm to 80mm, which made it easy for Cannondale to refit it. The archless design is a natural for larger wheels.

I've rebuilt one, it wasn't much harder to do than any other fork. The high end Lefty weighs as much as a SID and look at the picture I have been saving for years, Cedric casing a backflip. No wheel deflection at all.

Really, ask the haters these two simple questions to find out how baseless their claims are: "Ever ride a Lefty?" and "Ever rebuild one?"

Attached Files:

#5 -   Jun 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2012
  6. Sandwich

Sandwich Pig my fish!
    Staff Member

Rep/Likes:
    68 / 829