Quantcast

20mm Boost Hubs with One Piece Axles.

HardtailHack

used an iron once
Jan 20, 2009
I think I have asked something similar but my memory sucks and threads are easy to delete.

I would like to purchase a 20mm boost hub with a one piece axle and bearing preload adjustment instead of the more common style using end caps, a spacer tube and deep groove bearings.
I think Hadley and Chris King are both made this way, I currently have a 20mm Syntace non boost hub and it is almost made this way but put a all the load from the hub on two short end caps.
Cost and weight is not really of concern.

Cheers.

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout
I think Hadley is the best front hub though.
most durable, if nothing else. i've been running one since 2002. dh, trail, etc. i think i've serviced it only 2 or 3 times, and even then once i got it apart nothing was wrong. not the lightest that's for sure. but hot damn has it been an excellent hub.

Electric_City

Torture wrench
Apr 14, 2007
You're correct about Hadley.

Side Note- My DT Swiss is 12 years old now. The bearings were replaced in 2015, just because. But I hate removing the front wheel cause the sleeve between the two bearings falls down. You need 2 tools to get the axle in then.

HAB

Chelsea from Seattle
Apr 28, 2007
Seattle
Aren't the only 20mm boost hubs/forks that super duper booster width or some shit?
Axle itself is the same, the hub flanges are just spaced wider, and the brake mount is moved out 5mm to accommodate. So you just need a 5mm rotor spacer to make an old hub work on a 20mm boost fork.

HardtailHack

used an iron once
Jan 20, 2009
Axle itself is the same, the hub flanges are just spaced wider, and the brake mount is moved out 5mm to accommodate. So you just need a 5mm rotor spacer to make an old hub work on a 20mm boost fork.
He knows this, do you not know the woo?

HAB

Chelsea from Seattle
Apr 28, 2007
Seattle