Quantcast

20mm hubs/wheels

mr_dove

Monkey
Jan 18, 2002
Denver, CO
OK, I'm pretty new to the whole 20mm hub thing. I've seen it around but have pretty much ignored it since it didn't apply to me at the time.

Now, I'm planning on having a 20mm fork on my new bike (when i build it) and I'd like to learn a bit about the whole 20mm standard (if it is standardized).

I've seen various different names for 20mm products. I've seen QR20, QR20+, Tullio and just 20mm. Are these just different names for the same interchangable standard? Or are they all exclusive and proprietary?

Is stiffness the only benefit to the 20mm standard?

Do I need to get a specific hub type when going 20mm or are all 20mm hubs compatable with all 20mm forks?

What's the cheapest way to start out with 20mm
1. purchase new 20mm hub and have it re-laced on existing wheel? If so, what's the cheapest 20mm hub?
2. purchase single front wheel w/ 20mm hub (ebay has one for $120 now)
3. purchase an entire new wheelset?
4. Other

Any other info that I should be aware of before going for this?

Tweek

I Love Cheap Beer!
The QR20, QR20+, Tullio are all the same standard 20mm axles, just Marzocchi's and RockShox' method of getting the wheel on and off. There's nothing quick about the Marz QR20. The Tullio's a nice piece o' work -- a little "crank" slides out of the axle so you can thread it in and out of the Psylo fork.

Bear in mind that there are other through-axle types (like Manitou's) that don't match the std 20mm. I use Hope Bulbs for both of my 20mm forks and I'm quite happy with them. If you're going to be doing any serious downhill, you may want something beefier.