Quantcast

29er tires

duomaxwell

Chimp
Jul 6, 2011
Hi, I'm new to mountain biking and recently got a 2011 Trek Gary Fisher Marlin, the stock tires slip like crazy going uphill and the rear tire drifts often on while taking corners.
So now I'm looking for new tires to help prevent this slipping issue, the trails I've been riding on are mostly loose rocks/ loose soil over hardpack. Looking for something that has more traction than the bontrager 29-2, but still rolls fast and corners well. Looking to spend up to $80. Any good tire recommendations would be very helpful as I don't really know whats good and what isn't.

Last edited:

shiggy

Monkey
Oct 3, 2006
PDX
Hi, I'm new to mountain biking and recently got a 2011 Trek Gary Fisher Marlin, the stock tires slip like crazy going uphill and the rear tire drifts often on while taking corners.
So now I'm looking for new tires to help prevent this slipping issue, the trails I've been riding on are mostly loose rocks/ loose soil over hardpack. Looking for something that has more traction than the bontrager 29-2, but still rolls fast and corners well. Looking to spend up to $80. Any good tire recommendations would be very helpful as I don't really know whats good and what isn't.
Try adjusting the tire pressure first. Can make a huge difference.

There is nothing inherently bad about the 29-2. It is generally a good tire.

As you are relatively new to mtbing it is likely technique is a bigger factor than the tires. You are better off keeping what you have while developing new skills.

When I started riding I had traction issues using wide aggressive tires. Two years later I could ride the same trails using 1-inch wide slicks.

duomaxwell

Chimp
Jul 6, 2011