Quantcast

888 SL ATA knob... issues...

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by cheetaprowlerDH, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. cheetaprowlerDH

    cheetaprowlerDH Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,003
    Location:
    surviving the hell of the living deceased... VIST
    i have been riding an 07 888sl and really love it, BUT the travel adjust has been bugging me...
    after repeated hits in full travel setting, the knob will undo itself and usually i will end up with about an inch less travel then i started with at the top...

    anyone know how to fix this? for the terrain i'm riding, i need all of that travel and HA throughout the whole trail, things just dont work out without it...

    thanks
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. jamesdc

    jamesdc Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    When I was running a 66sl, I got so frustrated with it I just duct taped it down, it worked really well though
     
  3. bpatterson6

    bpatterson6 Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,050
    Location:
    Colorado
    Do a search, there are a ton of threads about this issue.
     
  4. zahgurim

    zahgurim Underwater monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 12
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    lolAsia
    The fix is to replace the tiny springs inside with stiffer versions.
     
  5. caseyo

    caseyo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Reno
    1. Search, we have been over this many times.

    2. If you don't need the adjustment, open up the left top cap, and screw in the little set screws all the way in, this will lock out your adjuster, and keep you at a set travel amount.
     
  6. cheetaprowlerDH

    cheetaprowlerDH Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,003
    Location:
    surviving the hell of the living deceased... VIST
    hey sorry for being too lazy to search... i didnt know it was that common... and i can barely think straight; i've been hiking my bike and DHing for the past 5 days...
    thanks for the info, i dont know how to take off the cap and replace the springs so i'll probably just use some electrical tape to keep it set seeing as to how i DO need the adjustment, but need it to be set throughout each trail... its either really steep, super rocky, and crazy fast or almost flat around here, so i need the setup to coincide with the trail so i'm not dying on the flat and bucking in the steeps...

    i'll check it out
    thanks again
     
  7. WODIE

    WODIE Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Inman/Clemson, SC
    The spring fix is very easy. Search for one of the tutorials and it'll have you set. All you do is essentially 1. pull off the ata adjuster knob 2. using a park tools fr-5 cassette tool unscrew the top cap of the left leg. (you might want to let out air first) 3. the top cap has two adjuster screws on the sides, unscrew these so that they're flush 4. fill the opening of the stanchion with a rag and carefully pull the top cap up and off (with a hand underneath the top cap so you dont lose a ball or spring if one were to come out. 5. unscrew the screws the rest of the way and replace the set springs inside with those found in the other tutorial 6. screw the screws back in so that you get a nice solid click when you turn the adjuster and reassemble.

    That is definitely a brief instruction to let you know it IS easy to do. It might even screw down a little bit later on really big hits but it fixes about 90% of the problem. Also another fyi, always make sure you snap that ata knob back on good otherwise it'll cost you a cool $35 to get it replaced.
     
  8. Inclag

    Inclag Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    8 / 42
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    2,329
    Location:
    MA
    Uh, it is way easier than what everyone here is saying. Unscrew the top cap and tighten down the set screws on the side of the top cap. Done
     
  9. gemini2k

    gemini2k Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    10 / 107
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,515
    Location:
    San Francisco
    bingo, you don't even have to lock it out, just a few turns to stiffen up the knob, it'll still work but won't wind down.
     
  10. cheetaprowlerDH

    cheetaprowlerDH Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,003
    Location:
    surviving the hell of the living deceased... VIST
    wow, so my knob doesnt even click at all, it just spins- i've never felt a click!!! thats waaay too loose right?... so i'll just tighten the bolts and hope for the best...

    is the cap just threaded on there? reverse thread or what?... dont want to break anything...
     
  11. Biffff

    Biffff Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    914
    The black adjuster cap has 2 fingers that you pop up, and then pull off. Then you need a cassette tool to take the top cap off the left stantion.
     
  12. cheetaprowlerDH

    cheetaprowlerDH Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,003
    Location:
    surviving the hell of the living deceased... VIST
    alright, so its just pushed on there...
    i have a cassete tool, so i'll check it out right now...
     
  13. Old_Sckool

    Old_Sckool Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Here ya go.

    http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=339566

    The absolute fix. Did it myself and the ATA works perfect now.

    How you liking your Rotec.? I considered buying that frame. Guy said he was taking offers and it was up to $900. Cracks me up that you got it for $550. I'd of given him $750 in a heartbeat but I wasn't going over $900, so I didn't bother making an offer. That'll teach him not to lie.

    Let me know if you decide to sell it.
     
  14. cheetaprowlerDH

    cheetaprowlerDH Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,003
    Location:
    surviving the hell of the living deceased... VIST
    thats awesome info, thanks for that, i aplogize again for my laziness..

    i adjusted the screws and it seems like it will work for the time being, but i do plan on doing the true spring fix later down the line...
    now i just need a shock pump to get my pressure back up in that leg... i'll probably pump it up in the RC2 leg as well depending on how much there already is in there...

    as for the Rotec, its friggin amazing and yeah, it cracks me up as well that i got it for $550... who was the guy you saw a frame from?
    and as for selling it, well i plan on riding it for at least the next few years, and with my racing schedule becoming more and more free as high school drags on, i plan on being with them for awhile... so i'm probably not going to sell it pretty much ever...
     
  15. caseyo

    caseyo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Reno
    i'll probably pump it up in the RC2 leg as well depending on how much there already is in there...



    Don't pump the right side. That makes absolutely no sense. It's your DAMPENING side, the left leg is the AIR SPRING side. What would you accomplish by this anyway? And how would you put air in there as well? Don't be dumb.
     
  16. Old_Sckool

    Old_Sckool Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    I'm pretty sure it's the frame you got. Saw it on pinkbike. Can't remember his name. I'm sure its the same one. He had it advertised for $650, but when I contacted him, he wouldn't sell it for $650. Said he was taking offers until Friday and that it currently had a high offer of $900. Obviously he was lying to try and up the price. Bad Karma, came back and bit him

    Anyway, glad you're diggin it. You deserve a nice bike after riding that Prowler for so long. :thumb:
     
  17. cheetaprowlerDH

    cheetaprowlerDH Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,003
    Location:
    surviving the hell of the living deceased... VIST
    seeing as to how i'm supposed to reapply air into the RC2 side if i DO release it, i would imagine there is a way... if theres not, then i wont... am i still dumb because i want my compression adjustment to do its job more effectivley?


    i'm just using a typical shock pump for the reapplication of pressure to the ATA side right?
     
  18. cheetaprowlerDH

    cheetaprowlerDH Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,003
    Location:
    surviving the hell of the living deceased... VIST
    interesting, it is definitley the same guy(Willem) and it doesnt surprise me that he upped the price like that...
     
  19. IHardtail

    IHardtail Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Hey anyone know if just taping down the knob (really well) will work?
     
  20. JRogers

    JRogers talks too much

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 1
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    3,796
    Location:
    Claremont, CA
    Anything that will stop the knob from twisting will work. I haven't seen tape, but I've seen a well placed zip tie. I use a piece of soldering wire bent around the knob and attached to the fork with a screw under the crown.

    edit: that was for the 66sl, but should be the same deal
     
  21. Kanye West

    Kanye West 220# bag of hacktastic

    Rep/Likes:
    17 / 164
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,452
    For everyone's information: The 2008 ATA adjuster top cap will solve the problem. It doesn't allow rotation without being pulled up a few mm then rotated. Just order it from Zoke.
     
  22. Nagaredama

    Nagaredama Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 2
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,596
    Location:
    Manhattan Beach, CA USA
    Killer info Gordon!
     
  23. WODIE

    WODIE Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Inman/Clemson, SC
    I will definitely look into getting a new cap then.. unfotunately i lost my cap on my 07 fork and to get it replaced it costed a cool 37 bones.
     
  24. Jonny5

    Jonny5 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    503
    how is an 08 top cap going to work? Its a 38mm fork now.
     
  25. Kanye West

    Kanye West 220# bag of hacktastic

    Rep/Likes:
    17 / 164
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,452
    It's just the adjuster cap. It fits into the splines of the top cap which are the splines for the cassette lockring tool, same as '07.
     
  26. Jonny5

    Jonny5 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    503
    No it doesnt. Its just a tight oring, if it fitted into the splines the topcap would undo when you adjust the travel.
     
  27. Kanye West

    Kanye West 220# bag of hacktastic

    Rep/Likes:
    17 / 164
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,452
    The '08 adjuster cap fits into the splines, the '07 one doesn't which is why it's allowed to move. There's a little piece protruding from the underside of the '08 cap that slips into the splines when it's pressed down all the way, so you have to pull it up a few mm to adjust it then press it back down. No wind down this way.
     
  28. Bati

    Bati Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Santiago - Chile
    Without changing the little springs... screw the bolts completely, then unscrew it 1-1/4 turn.
     
  29. Jonny5

    Jonny5 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    503
    Sorry dude, I did own this fork, Never remember having to lift the knob to adjust the travel.
     
  30. Kanye West

    Kanye West 220# bag of hacktastic

    Rep/Likes:
    17 / 164
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,452
    If you owned the '08 with the red ATA adjuster, it should have had to come up to to adjust the travel. Otherwise, you probably broke off the little tabs that hold it in place by not pulling it up first and trying to turn it too hard (that's pretty common).
     
  31. Yeti

    Yeti Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    877
    Location:
    yeti cave@the beach
    the guy I sold mine duct taped it....it works.