It won't surprise me if he makes the big show. Given his finish in the overall, is he protected for the first race? Maybe roll out of the start gate and then head back to the magic fountain of vicodin.
That was 2 years ago and they changed the rules last year to say that you have to enter where you left, doesn't matter if you gained an advantage, probably because of the Atherton incident the year before. Minnarr got DQ'd at Cairns in the final last year for under the same rule and he had not gained an advantage.
it's gone back to the original rule same as it always was. Right up until that Rachael Atherton farce where the goal posts were mysteriously moved overnight everyone knew fine they needed to re-enter the course exactly where they left or be DQ'd.
It's the correct rule. if you can't stay on course you haven't raced the same track as everybody else. advantage or not.