Quantcast

Angleset and geometry

mrgto

Monkey
Aug 4, 2009
Got a technical question. I’ve never used a angle set before and I want to ask you guys how it would change the geometry.

I have a 2016 Chromag Wideangle in M/L. It has a 68deg head angle. I was thinking of putting a Works 2deg angle set to make it 66deg. The frame is designed around a 150mm fork. My goal is to keep the geometry relatively the same except the HA. What would a 10mm longer fork do to the geometry after I installed the angleset. I have a 160mm Vengeance that I will be using.

Is there anything else that I’m not taking it to account that would negatively affect the handling.

Thanks
Tim

HAB

Chelsea from Seattle
Apr 28, 2007
Seattle
  1. Your reach will get a little shorter, since the headset will offset the upper bearing rearward to achieve the angle change.
  2. If the lower cup has a similar stack height to your current one, the stack height and BB height will decrease very slightly (especially slightly in the case of the BB) because the vertical component of the fork length will decrease a little.
  3. Alternately, you may need to move to an external lower cup from an internal one, which would increase the effective axle to crown height of the fork and do the opposite of 2. So would bumping up the fork 10mm.

MmmBones

Monkey
May 8, 2011
Porkland, OR
what HAB said, and if you increase fork travel by 10mm your bb height and seatpost angle stay almost the same as pre-angleset geo. External lower cup like the Cane Creek unit solves this if you are going from an integrated cup. I have requested an external lower cup -2 degree angled headset from Workscomponents.co.uk but he said there wasn't enough demand. I will ask him again because I still want one to replace my Cane Creek -1.5.

imbecile

Chimp
Sep 9, 2008
Bulgaria
  1. Your reach will get a little shorter, since the headset will offset the upper bearing rearward to achieve the angle change.