Quantcast

Any jumps in York County area?

Miagi

Chimp
May 5, 2007
York County
Hey, Im new to dirt jumping and would like to get a little better at it.
Problem is I only know of one set of jumps near me and its not that amazing.
The biggest jump is about 2' tall and 5' long and I can get that pretty well most times.
Just looking for something a little more challenging, but nothing too crazy. Yet.
Any locations would be appreciated.

Dec 3, 2006
WB
Hey Miagi, welcome to the board and dirt jumping. I live in Williamsburg and ride at a couple of different locations on the Peninsula and Southside.
On the Peninsula there's Gatewood trail in Newport News. It's got an easy jumpline consisting of three small/mid-size doubles and some smaller doubles on another line. Not too exciting, but a good distraction. Also, there's the Hampton BMX Track at Gosnold's Hope Park www.hamptonsupertrack.com It's a good place to learn to dirt jump because the jumps are all mellow and mostly tabletops so you don't have to worry too much about casing. I don't know of any jumps in York County.
On the Southside in Chesapeake there's Ipswich, otherwise known as Indian River Park, which has alot of jumps. Some really good lines for advanced riders and some some really good lines for learning. Easily the best location in the area for dirt jumping. There's some other trails in VB but they're too tight for MTB's.
There's only a few of us around here on the Peninsula but there are others in VB, Norfolk, and Surry. But otherwise not a very big scene.

Miagi

Chimp
May 5, 2007
York County
Thanks for the reply. I think I live pretty close to the Hampton Supertrack. Do you know if they have a free ride type of thing where anyone can just ride for fun? And do you think I can ride there cause I have a freestyle bmx bike, not a race bike.

ridetoofast

scarred, broken and drunk
Mar 31, 2002
crashing at a trail near you...
hey miagi