Quantcast

Any Old Guys dirt jumping?

EOBF

Monkey
Mar 26, 2005
Bellingham, WA
I am an old guy (36) and just getting into dirt jumping. Anyone my age or older ripping it up out there? I could use some inspiration.

scag

Monkey
Nov 19, 2004
I am an old guy (36) and just getting into dirt jumping. Anyone my age or older ripping it up out there? I could use some inspiration.
theres a good handful of people rippin it up at that age. Its only a number man....so keep rippin.

chuffer

Turbo Monkey
Sep 2, 2004
McMinnville, OR
34 here.

I get torn up pretty well everynow and then. The body is neither as elastic nor does it heal as fast as it once did, but riding hard keeps me a lot fitter that a lot of desk-driving 30 somethings whom I know.

I just started riding DJs a couple of years ago. Starting out as an old man with responsibilities can be a bit daunting -for reasons that young-uns will someday unnastand, but is certainly possible. A couple of tricks to help you out as an old man:

1. Progression is the key. Start easy and step it up. That said, in order to advance you are going to have to go beyond your comfort zone. Get used to it, because there is always something bigger or more difficult. The best feeling on a bike for me is "manning up" to hit some jump, stunt or whatever and then nailing it butter-smooth. The adrenaline, endorphines and the general feeling of "shit, that was easy and FUN" are sooo worth it.

2. Positive thoughts. This one is cliché, but it is true for everyone. If you start thinking about the consequences of casing or crashing, you will. If you think about how much of a badass rock star you are, you're gonna ride like one.