Quantcast

Any seat suggestions?

dookiegirl

Chimp
Mar 11, 2005
Washington
Hi everyone! I am new to the NW and I am just getting back into biking since I heard it is great here. I got a new Kona this week and it is the most awesome bike but the seat is really awful. Anyone have some suggestions on some nice seats? Thanks! :)

Heidi

Der hund ist laut und braun
Aug 22, 2001
Bend, Oregon
That's a tough one...saddles are a personal preference. I like the ones with a cutout. I have a Selle Italia Trans Am on all my bikes.

dhjill

Monkey
Feb 26, 2003
SD Cali
I've had some saddle issues over the past couple of years on my road and XC bikes...saddle sores, pain, and just general discomfort. I finally tried the Fizik Rondine saddle and I LOVE it! I think it's more of a road saddle, but I have one on both my road and XC bikes.

But Heidi is right...it is personal preference. What works for one person doesn't always work for another.

Good luck! :)

McGRP01

beer and bikes
Feb 6, 2003
Portland, OR
I'm no girl, but WTB, Specialized and Terry all make female specific models. They might be worth looking into as well. Good Luck! :)

clancy98

Monkey
Dec 6, 2004
have you "broken yourself back in" to a mtb saddle yet? maybe if you haven't been on a saddle in a minute then you shouldn't buy anything just yet, cause everythings gonna hurt...

Kntr

Turbo Monkey
Jan 25, 2003
Montana
The She seat is shorter and wider in the back like she said. Its super comfy even for males. Im surprised they call it the SHE seat.

Handlebarsfsr

Monkey
Dec 6, 2004
ct
i went shopping with the girlfriend last week, and she fell in love with specialized's women specific body geometry saddles.

Mtbkngrl

Monkey
Aug 21, 2002
Rochester NY
I have the Terry Butterfly on my road bike and my xc bike and I think it's the best seat I've ever had....I'll keep buying them as long as they keep making them.

burnergirl

Chimp
Mar 27, 2005
Okinawa, Japan