Quantcast

Any Tex, La, Ok, Ar Monkeys Wanna Womble Memorial Day Wkend?

N8 v2.0

Not the sharpest tool in the shed
Oct 18, 2002
The Cleft of Venus
The Shreveport MTBers are looking for some trail advice/directions and would welcome any other Monkeys. We have folks of all calibers from raw beginners to Xxxperts.

We are basing ourselves in Mt Ida at the Royal Oak Inn & camping at the Haven.

ARmtnBIKER

Chimp
Apr 10, 2002
The Natural State
Hey N8, I would of been more than happy to of shown y'all around if it wasn't for the race at Old Post this weekend. But I will be tied up Saturday and Sunday both. I saw your post on AMBCS, hopefully MenaMike will reply to you, he is Mr. Womble and knows every rock on every road around there. I could try and give you some directions but it would probably just end up getting you lost, I can drive myself to the trail heads down there but when it comes to telling someone else how to I'm not very good at it since I dont know the names of the roads and stuff. But I can suggest what sections to ride and which direction to ride it. Since you have so many going down and several different skill levels you will probably want to break up into two groups, your more experienced riders that can go the distance will want to do the thing from lake to lake, which is somewhere around 25-27 miles, your beginners will probably want to start at the Hwy 298 trail head and just do the 12-13 mile stretch to the Fishing Village, and if that isnt enough for them they can cross the bridge at the Village and do an out and back on the section of trail that goes north up to the Ouachita Trail. But whatever you do be sure and ride the Womble West to East, it flows so much better that way, really not that much climbing and its fast... Let me know what you think about the trail when you get back, My favorite section is the last 4 or 5 miles around the Reed Mtn area to the Fishing Village, it has some areas that if your not used to it you will suck up a little...