Quantcast

Anybody in Bicycle/Motorcycle industry...

odiwik

Monkey
Mar 2, 2004
Any :monkey:'s currently working or having previously worked in the industry, please P/M me. I have some questions that I would like to ask a design engineer working as a bicycle or motorcycle component designer. Brake design, frame design, fork design, shock design, wheel/tire design, anything design engineering related (not Industrial Design).

It's hard to tell who is an actual engineer and who is a third year college student with no design time under their belt from just browsing the forums and user names, otherwise I would P/M you directly...

Thank you! :)

Ctfphotos

Chimp
Nov 5, 2001
Astoria, NY
My advice: Run away as fast as you can. Make real money designing lawn furniture or something and buy your bikes at full retail with you real world salary. Seriously.

odiwik

Monkey
Mar 2, 2004
I'm a mechanical engineering student that has some questions not pertaining to equations and principals of physics, etc., but are industry related. I said anybody in the bicycle/motorcycle industry, but any design engineer will work. I'm also not in this major for the money, even though I easily could be. I'm in it for the fun..

Matt D

Monkey
Mar 19, 2002
charlottesville, va
Originally posted by odiwik
I'm a mechanical engineering student that has some questions not pertaining to equations and principals of physics, etc., but are industry related. I said anybody in the bicycle/motorcycle industry, but any design engineer will work. I'm also not in this major for the money, even though I easily could be. I'm in it for the fun..
Well have *fun* trying to get a job in the industry!:D

You'll realize shortly that you can't just go into the bike industry after college as an engineer, it's almost impossible. Most engineers in the bike industry have years and years of design experience outside bikes, such as motorcycles as you mentioned.