Quantcast

Anyone a lawyer?

L

luelling

So here is the deal, I have a degree in software engineering and I've been in industry a year.....but I've been wanting to continue my education (some personal reasons, other money motivated). My question to all the monkeys is has anyone gone to law school? I've looked over the LSAT and done a bit of studying for it. My other question is, has anyone gone to college while working full time? I only was working around 20 hrs a week, so it wasn't a huge deal.

Chunky Munkey

Herpes!
May 10, 2006
is ALWAYS key I say...
You want a law degree? You're going to have to find someone to support you while you're in college if you want to do it in four years. You'll need the time for a law degree. Either that or look forward to no love life or night life for about seven years or more as when you aren't working, you'll be studying your butt off. But it's VERY interesting reading material. It's good reading and it draws you in like a good "Who Done It." It makes you REALLY think. Get your parents to support you while you go. They'll get it back. Don't waste time, go in, get it done in four years. People lose their motivation. A buddy of mine stopped three credits shy of a pharmaceutical degree.

SE's get good money, why be a lawyer? Unless you're greedy. Then you'd be perfect for the job.

rooftest

Monkey
Jul 10, 2005
OC, CA
Law school is 3 years if you do it full time, 4 years if you do it while working. I just finished business school (MBA) in 3 years while working full time. It's tough, but not impossible. Suck it up, and you can do it - you'll be glad you did.

And studying for the LSAT (or GMAT) is something you need to take seriously. Spend the money to take a class - you need to know how to specifically study for the type of questions they ask on the test.

L

luelling