Quantcast

Anyone familiar with Microsoft Access?

Discussion in 'Computers & Technology' started by w00dy, Feb 11, 2008.

  1. w00dy

    w00dy In heaven there is no beer

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 27
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,428
    Location:
    that's why we drink it here
    I've been setting up a database to deal with out repair/warantee wheels. I've hit a wall on this and I need some advice. Is there a type of report or form that will print out the information from just one row of the worksheet? The report I built spits out the proper information, but for every record in the GD database.
    I've checked the msft help pages and turned up nothing of assistance so far. Any help on this would be very appreciated.
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. H8R

    H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep/Likes:
    7 / 4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,983
    You can make a query that will pull the specific info from the table, then have the report pull from the query, not from the table directly.


    Other Access monkeys can fill in the details.
    :D
     
  3. jimmydean

    jimmydean The Official Meat of Ridemonkey

    Rep/Likes:
    174 / 1,529
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    29,060
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Select "column name" from "table name" where "stuff you want= the stuff you're looking for"?
     
  4. TreeSaw

    TreeSaw Mama Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    41 / 428
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    16,679
    Location:
    Dancin' over rocks n' roots!
    That would have been my suggestion as well.
     
  5. w00dy

    w00dy In heaven there is no beer

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 27
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,428
    Location:
    that's why we drink it here
    Thank you, I'll read up on how to do that. Any other suggestions are welcome. I'm still open to ideas.
     
  6. Prettym1k3

    Prettym1k3 Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,867
    Location:
    In your pants
    Took a class on that program in college.

    HATED IT.

    Don't remember a thing.
     
  7. cadmus

    cadmus Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    PNW
    Use [] in the where/criteria section to prompt you for the 'Where' criteria each time you run the query.
     
  8. H8R

    H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep/Likes:
    7 / 4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,983
    My limited Access experience was always to follow this logic.

    Table has info.
    Queries pull the info.
    Reports make the query info nice to look at.
     
  9. w00dy

    w00dy In heaven there is no beer

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 27
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,428
    Location:
    that's why we drink it here
    It seems that you can only narrow down the info by columns. I want to pull the info for a singular row at a time. What am I missing here?
     
  10. H8R

    H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep/Likes:
    7 / 4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,983
    That a table is a table and not an Excel worksheet.
     
  11. S.n.a.k.e.

    S.n.a.k.e. Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    N. Tonawanda, NY
    w00dy,

    Databases contain tables. Table are rows of information which have fields (or columns if you will).

    You wish to print a report that contains one row from the table? or you want to report on one column from each row of the table? If you want just one row, you will need to find a way to uniquely identify that row. Generally speaking, that is why database designers put and identity column in each table. 'Round here we always use integer primary key values named for the table. So if we had a table that tracked w00dies its' identity column would be iW00dyID. Each entry in the table would have a unique value from 1 to the number of records in the table.

    As previously stated, best bet is to create a view of the table to drive the report. Access calls these Queries. Go to the objects group of the database, and click Queries and choose Create a query using the Wizard. It will ask you the table(s) to use, the fields (columns) to select, and then present you with said data. Once you perfect the query, go back to your report and change its data source to your newly created query as opposed to the table that is most likely there now.

    Once you get that far, post up your successes or failures.

    Hope this helps.

    Marc