Quantcast

Anyone have bike magazine connections/ places that need freelance writers?

bluebug32

Asshat
Jan 14, 2005
Floating down the Hudson
Hey monkies. I'm looking to branch out into writing for Bike magazines or writing for the biking industry. I'm currently a freelance writer for a national fitness magazine and an editor at a magazine. Biking and writing are my passions and I would love to combine the two. Unfortunately having a connection is sometimes the only way to get a foot in the door. So any suggestions you have are greatly appreciated :)

BurlyShirley

Rex Grossman Will Rise Again
Jul 4, 2002
TN
My suggestion:

Pick another sport for freelance writing. Few people make "any" money at it. Mags are bombarded with free stuff all day long. The reason content sucks is because they're too cheap to pay decent writers.
Like with the magazine Decline. Man, those writers are just brutal. I found tons of errors on every page of text in that rag, and now I no longer even see it on the shelves.

Plain and simple. Bike industry either doesnt have the money, or is too stingy with it to pay for decent work. We all suffer.

stosh

Darth Bailer
Jul 20, 2001
NY
bluebug32 said:
Hey monkies. I'm looking to branch out into writing for Bike magazines or writing for the biking industry. I'm currently a freelance writer for a national fitness magazine and an editor at a magazine. Biking and writing are my passions and I would love to combine the two. Unfortunately having a connection is sometimes the only way to get a foot in the door. So any suggestions you have are greatly appreciated :)
I have some connections, maybe you can swing by and show me some examples of your work!

bluebug32

Asshat
Jan 14, 2005
Floating down the Hudson
BurlyShirley said:
My suggestion:

Pick another sport for freelance writing. Few people make "any" money at it. Mags are bombarded with free stuff all day long. The reason content sucks is because they're too cheap to pay decent writers.