Quantcast

Anyone know anything about toilets?

MMike

A fowl peckerwood.
Sep 5, 2001
just sittin' here drinkin' scotch
So yeah....I have no experience with these fancy-pants low flow toilets. For some reason, the tank is draining over night. The float is not triggering to refill it. If I push the lever, the mechanism does it's thing, and the tank refills. At least it will flush, but obviously I have to wait for the tank to refill itself.

I'm guessing I should just replace the whole mechanism inside? I've done it on the older style with the horizontal float arm thingy. But this doesn't have that.

Colonel Angus

Monkey
Feb 15, 2005
land of the green chiles
That is one ugly toilet. I have a low-flow, but it looks normal.

You have two problems. If the tank is draining overnight, the seal at the bottom of the tank is bad. Drain the toilet, take out the seal, take it to the hardware store and buy a new one.

If the tank is not refilling, then your float mechanism is bad. You can trouble shoot it, or just replace it.

MMike

A fowl peckerwood.
Sep 5, 2001
It looks like you'd have to sit on that thing sideways to take a poop without having your asscheeks go numb.

Yeah it's pretty weird....it's tiny...well THEY because I have the same one in my powder room.

But I met the seller on Sat. for the first time. He's like 6'5". My wife and I are mystified how he was ever able to use it.

They are perfect for my daughters because they are so low.

ire

Turbo Monkey
Aug 6, 2007
I had the same problem recently and I replaced the everything because it was so cheap (I think I paid $10 for a kit).

MMike

A fowl peckerwood.
Sep 5, 2001
That is one ugly toilet. I have a low-flow, but it looks normal.

You have two problems. If the tank is draining overnight, the seal at the bottom of the tank is bad. Drain the toilet, take out the seal, take it to the hardware store and buy a new one.