Anyone need a helmet cam?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by N8 v2.0, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. N8 v2.0

    N8 v2.0 Not the sharpest tool in the shed

    Rep/Likes:
    17 / 149
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    11,008
    Location:
    The Cleft of Venus
    #1 -   Jan 5, 2008

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. FrontRangeDH

    FrontRangeDH Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Location:
    15 sq. miles surrounded by reality
    better be good for $850
     
    #2 -   Jan 5, 2008
  3. G-spot

    G-spot Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Messages:
    470
    Location:
    Chester,Va.
    I just got that one for Xmas and love it so far!!!! still learning how to use it and set the lens right so you get the best sight line while riding.
     
    #3 -   Jan 5, 2008
  4. mtbmovies.com

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    That is a unique helmet cam.. I like it.

    I got one from onBoard.tv and they are great, very compact -- probably even more so than that one.
     
    #4 -   Jan 6, 2008
  5. Evil Sylvain

    Evil Sylvain Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    $750 here with free shipping in the US:
    http://www.atvutah.com/
     
    #5 -   Jan 6, 2008
  6. FrontRangeDH

    FrontRangeDH Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Location:
    15 sq. miles surrounded by reality
    And you can mount it to a gun!!! Woohoo....famous redneck last words, hey ya'll watch this
     
    #6 -   Jan 6, 2008
  7. Evil Sylvain

    Evil Sylvain Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    I'm curious to read a report (set-up, battery duration, is a 2Gig card limiting, etc...) and see some first hand videos filmed with this camera as I am planning to buy it.
    Thanks.
     
    #7 -   Jan 6, 2008
  8. DirtyMike

    DirtyMike Turbo Fluffer

    Rep/Likes:
    54 / 627
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    13,846
    Location:
    My own world inside my head
    That looks like a very nice camera, Just a little dissapointing that for that price, It only comes with 1gig of storage. I think I owuld personally rather a regular digital recorder, with a Lipstick style helmet cam attachment. But I do want to see some footage from someone here who has one before I decide for sure what I want to get
     
    #8 -   Jan 6, 2008
  9. Evil Sylvain

    Evil Sylvain Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    It comes with a 1gig memory card but you can use a 2gig if you wish. However the firmware currently limits it to 2gig memory cards (for reasons I am not aware of). Still, the firmware can be upgraded so when it's possible to use more than 2gig you can use a greater capacity card after the upgrade. That's really nice IMO. I don't know if there'll be a cost for the firmware upgrade.

    According to the link I posted with 2gig you can record up to 1h26min using the highest resolution available. Pretty good.
     
    #9 -   Jan 6, 2008
  10. Quo Fan

    Quo Fan don't make me kick your ass

    Rep/Likes:
    38 / 36
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    5,959
    Location:
    Here. I'm just not sure where "here" is.
    And, with the cards being small and inexpensive, you could carry multiple cards to extend the recording time.
     
  11. DirtyMike

    DirtyMike Turbo Fluffer

    Rep/Likes:
    54 / 627
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    13,846
    Location:
    My own world inside my head
    Yeah I saw you can swap it to a 2 gig, but still doesnt seem like very much storage for that much money, I am curious though what it would cost to upgrade to hold more
     
  12. kidwoo

    kidwoo Celebrating No-Pants Day

    Rep/Likes:
    152 / 1,453
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    21,596
    Location:
    In my pants
    Meh.

    The footage I've seen from those things still sucks.


    Either there's no shutter speed adjustment or or the processor can't handle fast motion too well.

    Even the propaganda footage on their website looks weak.
     
  13. Evil Sylvain

    Evil Sylvain Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
  14. demolition dave

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    463
  15. TreeSaw

    TreeSaw Mama Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    39 / 388
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    16,614
    Location:
    Dancin' over rocks n' roots!
    We ran into this problem with our camera. We were told we could get upgrades and use a 4GB card and that's simply not the case so we have an expensive card that is useless to us and since we opened the package, can't be returned!