Quantcast

Arch support... I missed you so!

golgiaparatus

Out of my element
Aug 30, 2002
Deep in the Jungles of Oklahoma
Don't know why I ever was unfaithful to this brand. I've had 2 pairs of shoes since my last Lakes... and as soon as I put these on It felt like home. Absomutely perfect fit... and unlike most shoes, perfect arch support.

Pretty neat closure system on these as well.

woodsguy

gets infinity MPG
Mar 18, 2007
Sutton, MA
I think a properly aligned foot would be better. Check out the Alines. I've been useing them for about 5 years after I got a pinched nerve and my feet have never felt better.

golgiaparatus

Out of my element
Aug 30, 2002
I think a properly aligned foot would be better. Check out the Alines. I've been useing them for about 5 years after I got a pinched nerve and my feet have never felt better.
I may look at some for my road shoes, I get hot spots on longer rides with them and they have zero rch support. These Lakes don't need anything though, they feel great to me as they are.

atrokz

Turbo Monkey
Mar 14, 2002
teedotohdot
Uh, call me silly but why would a person require 'arch support' on a mountain bike?

You're riding on the ball of your foot (well, you should be), correct? If I have anatomy right, this means your arch should be flexed somewhat, and with no pressure on your heel I don't see the usefulness of an arch.

I should point out I'm a proponent of barefoot running, so I might be a little jaded.

golgiaparatus

Out of my element
Aug 30, 2002
Uh, call me silly but why would a person require 'arch support' on a mountain bike?

You're riding on the ball of your foot (well, you should be), correct? If I have anatomy right, this means your arch should be flexed somewhat, and with no pressure on your heel I don't see the usefulness of an arch.

I should point out I'm a proponent of barefoot running, so I might be a little jaded.