Quantcast

are custom handbuilt wheels a thing of the past?

dexterq20

Turbo Monkey
Mar 6, 2003
NorCal
When I worked in a shop (from 2002 till 2009) I used to think custom handbuilt was the only option when it came to high-end wheels. Every wheelset I have ever owned has been handbuilt (by me). But now with so many solid pre-built options coming from Mavic, Easton, Industry 9, Crank Bros, DT Swiss, etc, is there really a place for custom handbuilt wheels in today's mountain bike market? I used to be afraid of proprietary spoke systems, but if I had to go get new wheels tomorrow, I would absolutely buy something pre-built. It would be cheaper, it would save time, and it would probably be just as good as something I laced up myself.

Whatcha think?

kidwoo

Artisanal Tweet Curator
There's a mental leap between what you know and new approaches (ie crank bros 2 spoke or whatever they hell they are wheel systems). I haven't seen anything that makes me question the way I build DH wheels. The xc stuff however........I've watched those crank bros wheels survive some amazing feats.......as in someone royally fvcking up something that in no way falls in to 'trail riding'.

I've tried a few generations of crossmax wheels and watched some of the crank bros dh wheels, and for that application, no......I personally don't feel like there are prebuilt systems that work better than the wheels I build for DOWNHILL. I'd be all over some of the lighter duty setups though.

toodles

ridiculously corgi proportioned
Aug 24, 2004
Australia
Some of the new factory wheels are bloody impressive, but I'm still not keen on those wheels that require proprietry spokes, hubs and nipples. If you travel with your bike much, finding odd-sized parts can be a pain and carrying a spare of everything usually blows out your packing list and weight allowance pretty quickly.

Handbuilt traditional wheels for me at least until the other stuff gets more popular.

norbar

KESSLER PROBLEM. Just cause