Quantcast

Arrrrgggh? How do you feel?

Ciaran

Fear my banana
Apr 5, 2004
So Cal
I am just curious.....

How do you all feel about pirate software? Not asking if you personally are a pirate, but I am curious to know how people feel about this. I posted an offer of some less than legitimate software to someone once and one persons reply was that they didn't approve of such things. This lead me to thinking about whether or not most people feel the same, don't care either way, or like sticking it to the software companies. So what do you all think?

Ciaran...

Toshi

Harbinger of Doom
Oct 23, 2001
that was me, and i'll state it again. i majored in comp. sci., i've worked as a programmer (for palm, inc.), and many of my friends work in the industry, especially for microsoft. given that there are open source and freeware alternatives for just about anything you could pirate there is NO possible justification for piracy. yes, the open source products aren't as polished, but if you care about that pay the developers for their work.

admittedly i'm biased: i wouldn't feel strongly about this if it didn't affect my friends' livelihood, and wouldn't have licensed copies of some of my software if it weren't for my school's license and/or my own educational discount. but my point stands.

Kornphlake

Turbo Monkey
Oct 8, 2002
Portland, OR