Quantcast

as far as a race bike goes, what would you get from Specialized or Cannondale?

bikenweed

Turbo Monkey
Oct 21, 2004
Los Osos
I've got a 2005 Demo8, and while it works, I don't think it's a great race bike. The back end is just too short. I've got a small, and I'm 5'9", so that could be why. The bike just gets sketchy at high speeds.

I have little experience with the Cannondale, but have seen torn off floater arms.

I would check out a V10, a 224, a Sunday, a Morewood, a PMC, etc.

Jeremy R

<b>x</b>
Nov 15, 2001
behind you with a snap pop
Get the Demo 8 II and be done with it.
The guy above is on the wrong size frame for his height.
I know alot of guys on the Demo 8 that switched from M3's
and DHRs and like the Demo better as a race bike. I have also seen my friends hop on that bike and start smoking right away.
You won't be disappointed, just don't judge the wheelbase by what size frame you get. The Demo has a long wheelbase, and short chainstays, so make sure you get the right size.

BigMike

BrokenbikeMike
Jul 29, 2003
Montgomery county MD
5'9 on a small? :think:

And also, are V10, 224, Sunday, Morewood, and PMC made by Specialized or Cannondale? :rolleyes:

Thanks Jeremy :) you actually know people that have gone from DHRs and M3s to demos?

Jeremy R

<b>x</b>
Nov 15, 2001
behind you with a snap pop
BigMike said:
5'9 on a small? :think:

And also, are V10, 224, Sunday, Morewood, and PMC made by Specialized or Cannondale? :rolleyes:

Thanks Jeremy :) you actually know people that have gone from DHRs and M3s to demos?
Yes. 3 that I am thinking of from DHR's and 1 from a M3 last year.
Don't me wrong, all of those bikes are great race bikes, and people have different preferences for different reasons, I just don't think you would be disappointed with one for sure. You should test ride one just to make sure, that is what I did.:)