Quantcast

ATTN: North Carolina Kids

Mar 27, 2007
LA, CA
Seen anyone running these?

Sorry no picture, I'm not good at the interwebs. http://www.easternbikes.com/a/products/parts/07Parts/07NewStuff.html

In The Works
Plastic BB

Eastern has been working on some new products and we just wanted to give you a peek at one. This is a Plastic BB. It's light and will be significantly less expensive than a standard metal version.

Manufactured from bearing grade self-lubricating polymer
On a spanish bb you would save roughly 6.5 ounces
We have made one small production run and are currently testing with positive results
This will not be the final production model
Basically the cup presses into the frame with a lot less effort than a normal bearing and then the “bearing” fits pretty tight on the spindle and spins inside the cup
The bearings are made to do away with the stacks of washers most people use, it will however come with a few polymer washers if you need to adjust the spacing
Widely used in many industries
While this product is still in the testing stage, a handful of local riders are running them with positive results.

D.E.T.

Chimp
Jan 21, 2004
NC
This kind of stuff makes me embarrassed to ride bmx. This light weight craze is getting out of hand. Maybe if the new school riders weren't worried about fitting into their sisters jeans, they could handle a little weight.

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout
Fundamentally this is no different than using high quality bushings in place of bearings in a suspension frame - which, quite a number of companies do successfully.

With the right polymer there's no reason it shouldn't work.

Pesling

Chimp
Dec 7, 2007
Germany
I rode an ares plastic bb - this really sucked!
1) you have to glue your crankset (loctite)
2) after 1 hour it's out of round
3) costs too much for pvc-parts
pvc-bearings = trash!

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout