Quantcast

Best way to clean a chain

- seb

Turbo Monkey
Apr 10, 2002
UK
Stupid question since I've been riding for 10+ years, but what's the most effective way to clean, say, a chain?

I normally spend ages with hot water, washing up liquid, and a scrubbing brush, and it's still a bit gritty/oily by the end of it. Is there something I can use that will make the oil just fall off of it? I've never tried any of these pink bike cleaning liquids, are they any good or just a waste of money?

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout
Pedros degreaser works well for me. The orange peelz stuff. Also non-toxic, which is a plus. Just don't get it in your eyes. It burns like a mofo. I learned this the hard way.

frango

Turbo Monkey
Jun 13, 2007
0,5-0,7L PET bottle with big "intake" + petrol. Shake it very hard for few minutes, dry it well and it's done. Pour back into bigger container, coz You'll use it next time.

djjohnr

Turbo Monkey
Apr 21, 2002
Northern California
Any citrus degreaser (I buy the bulk generic at Home Depot) + a Finish Line chain cleaner (the green plastic one). I've never found anything that gets stuff off better/faster.

Stoked

Turbo Monkey
Nov 28, 2004
LI, NY
if its really that bad, remove the chain and soak it in the degreaser. then run it through the finish line chain cleaner.

- seb

Turbo Monkey
Apr 10, 2002
UK
0,5-0,7L PET bottle with big "intake" + petrol. Shake it very hard for few minutes, dry it well and it's done. Pour back into bigger container, coz You'll use it next time.
I'd be secretly terrified that the chain was going to knock on itself hard enough to spark.... probably totally improbable, but I don't think I'd enjoy shaking it nonetheless!

BigHitComp04

Monkey
Jun 20, 2005
Morgantown, WV