Quantcast

Birthday presents rule!

So I have an Aunt that lives in Durango. She works at a retail store out there and she has a very nice custoner that she is on real good terms with. This customer is involved in cycling in a very important way.
To quote"He is a really nice person...I have been working hard for two years to obtain something special for you & I finally have."
The customer is Lances' Dad.
He brought in one of Lances' hats from the tour.
I got it today in the mail and thought she went to the tour or something. I read the letter and was just floored.
And wouldn't you just know it, my camera has quit working. When I figure out how to get it to download, I'll put up pics.

Now I just have to write a thank you letter that isn't all kinds of weird...

Wow. I have to frame this thing somehow.

No. I haven't put it on. It looks like it may be a little small for my head. I have a huge head.
But...It does have a hair in it, so I can authenticate it through DNA. It also has a bit of 'salt' on the brim.

And yes, I know this all sounds a bit of - stalker type g-hey - But Damn! how many people have a hat that Lance has actually worn?

I'm really kind of proud of this.

Let me have my moment.....

JohnE

filthy rascist
May 13, 2005
Front Range, dude...
Not to be a buzz kill, but all I have heard about Lance and his Dad is that he (Lance) pretends he (Dad) doesn't exist. Maybe some authentication would be in order?

I Are Baboon

Vagina man
Aug 6, 2001
MTB New England
Not to be a buzz kill, but all I have heard about Lance and his Dad is that he (Lance) pretends he (Dad) doesn't exist. Maybe some authentication would be in order?
If I remember correctly, "Armstrong" is his stepfather's last name and they are very close, so maybe that's who the hat came from. I can't imagine his birth dad being able to get any of Lance's hats.

Pretty cool little piece of memorabilia if you ask me. :) I wouldn't wear it though. It should be for display purposes only.

douglas