Quantcast

Bought a project

Hunty

Chimp
Oct 7, 2008
Hey guys i am new to freeride and i bought a coolish kinda bike and its a magna because i got it quite cheap and i was wondering if i can fit new forks on the to get rid of ther realy thin onse

Arkayne

I come bearing GIFs
May 10, 2005
SoCal
Hey guys i am new to freeride and i bought a coolish kinda bike and its a magna because i got it quite cheap and i was wondering if i can fit new forks on the to get rid of ther realy thin onse
Welcome to RM.

This one?

Cable43

Monkey
Oct 7, 2008
(Philly @ Heart)
I'll be the one to say it. In my opinion a High Tensile Steel Magna is not a good choice for a freeride bike. It's not a very strong material and the welds are also sub par.

spec-rider88

Monkey
Oct 22, 2006
St.Leonard, MD
I'll be the one to say it. In my opinion a High Tensile Steel Magna is not a good choice for a freeride bike. It's not a very strong material and the welds are also sub par.
Agreed. If you look closely on the frame, there's probably a sticker on the frame that says "Not intended for off-road use." We get those all the time at the shop. Savin money is good but look out for your safety bro!

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
I realize that it's not the advise you want to hear but with your best interests in mind let me second the advise above. Hard riding on a bike of that caliber can actually be dangerous - you simply don't know when (not if) it is going to fail.

That said, if you are dead set on keeping it, I'd probably recommend you not upgrade the fork. The one that's on there is suited to the type of riding that bike is capable of. Upgrading won't make the ride much better and it's just going to be one strong point among a myriad of weak points.

Hunty

Chimp
Oct 7, 2008
i was just seein if my bike was orite to do it

I think it best for me to do cosscountry and dirtin

Hunty

Chimp
Oct 7, 2008