Quantcast

Boxxer wc "problem"

Carnaza

Monkey
Aug 10, 2006
Santiago, Chile
i don`t know how to explain it.. but i`ll try..

Today before i went to ride i put like 120-130 psi in the fork (wc 09) but after 9 runs in my local trails i rechecked the pressure and it was 150 psi...

any ideas how is this possible... and how can i fix this?

thanks

AlCapone

Monkey
Apr 5, 2009
North Bend, WA
I'm not a suspension expert or anything, but because the fork moves when you use it, the friction it uses causes heat. As you probably know, when air heats up, it expands, which causes the pressure to go up. I believe this is one of the reasons why air shocks aren't used for DH very often. Since they have a lower air volume, the pressure increase is magnified.

Carnaza

Monkey
Aug 10, 2006
Santiago, Chile
yes i know about that....

but this is the 2nd wc i have... and with the older one i didn`t have the problem.... even with the new one the problem appeared like 1 month (never before)... when i replaced the oil seals... i just removed the lowers, change the seals and put the lower back and set 130 psi as always...

it`s weird, it doesn`t make sense at all... if it loses air makes more sense to me....i`ll take it apart and rebuild it... but i wanted to know what part or building process could be wrong, to check it when i build it.

thanks..

Udi

RM Chief Ornithologist
Mar 14, 2005
Nope, it's not heat or altitude (the change can't be that significant, especially once chambers equalize). There's also very little heat buildup in the air spring (likely due to its high volume) - at the end of a long run, the air stanchion usually won't even be warm whereas the damper leg will be.

The cause for pressure increases usually involves pressure from the negative chamber leaking into the positive chamber and/or chambers not equalizing properly. It can usually be traced back to an o-ring or lubrication issue.