Quantcast

Buy-n-Sell question

FarkinRyan

Monkey
Dec 15, 2003
Pemberton, BC
Whats up monkeys? Just moved to Canada so have, for the first time, started checking out the classifieds here with the intention of picking up a new frame and fork combo.

Noticed that quite a few ads state "Will ship/only ship to the lower 48" which obviously refers to the contintental US. Are guys who say this saying they'll only sell to people within the continental US or that they'll only pay for shipping within the continental US, ergo, they'll sell it to me in Canada, but I have to pay the shipping costs.

Sorry for the total noobery of the question, but don't want to go wasting a bunch of people's time with pointless PMs.

dropmachine

Turbo Monkey
Sep 7, 2001
Your face.
Where'd you move to?

With most US sellers, I find they just don't have experience in hsipping to Canada, so they just list the US for ease. But, I can usually convince them to ship to Canada using USPS, which will be a lot cheaper for you too once it crosses the border.

FarkinRyan

Monkey
Dec 15, 2003
Pemberton, BC
Moved to BC, currently staying with friends on Vancouver Island but looking for work anywhere there's mountains.

Can you explain the cheaper once it crosses the border stuff? Assuming you mean import duties and what have you?

dropmachine

Turbo Monkey
Sep 7, 2001
Your face.
UPS, FedEx and all the rest are Nazi's. They will happily sodomize you with ludicrous border fees and customs duties, all without a kiss first or even a smile.

Canada post on the other hand, is far more reasonable, and do a fine job of getting you wonderful bike bits to ride.

FCLinder

Turbo Monkey
Mar 6, 2002
Greenville, South Carolina