Quantcast

Calling Dr. Ridemonkey

pnj

Turbo Monkey till the fat lady sings
Aug 14, 2002
seattle
I went OTB on Sunday and ended up with a grade 1 (or whatever they call it) AC tear in my left shoulder. (and a slight collapsed lung). Spent a couple of days in the hospital and now I'm home.

When can I start doing PT and what type of exercises should I be doing? The doctor said I can start moving it ASAP but I don't want to do extra damage.

FWIW, I'm not on pain pills. Pain isn't too bad if I'm not moving around but if I try to lift my arm pain goes up and it feels like something is tearing.

pnj

Aug 14, 2002
seattle
I looked in the mirror yesterday and said, "wtf, it looks like a bunny is growing out of my back!".

The EKG lead is long gone.

This is more than a mild sprain*, as my shoulder is physically lower. But I did speak with about 4-5 other bike riders that said they had the same injury and they did say it is minor, in that it requires no surgery.

*I'm no doctor and I didn't even sleep at a holiday inn...

Honestly, the hardest part about this is listening to my girlfriend bitch that I'm doing do much (sit down, stop moving, don't pick up that car tire, etc)

chillindrdude - thanks for the link!

pnj

Aug 14, 2002
seattle
chillindrdude - as to the "sack the fvk up" comment, the ONLY reason I went to the doctor is because my lung was making funny noises. I did wait until the next day before going to the doc. Not sure if that makes me a non-pvssy or just dumb. :)

pnj

Aug 14, 2002
seattle
I did see a doctor. You think I just have my own EKG stickers? :)

After reading the pdf from chillindrdude, I think the doctor told me the wrong thing. My shoulder is lower than the upper bone piece. You can see it in the first picture. edit* you can see it better in picture 2.

I got a CT scan and two X-rays.

Last edited: