Quantcast

Camera People....WTF?

chicodude

The Spooninator
Mar 28, 2004
Paradise
Alright, So I have some questions about camera stuff.

I was organizing the pictures I took today at the skate park and I ran across a type of file called CR2. There was only like 6 of them or so out of about 50. So why are these ones in this format? Is it because I shot them in manual mode? I have the basic rebel XT setup and I just started shooting raw so I am kinda confused.

Oh yea, My camera just stopped working today for about five minutes. I would turn off the power and the LCD was still up put on or off it wouldn't take any pictures. Then I took out and put the battery in and all was good. So should I be worried?

Silver

find me a tampon
Jul 20, 2002
Orange County, CA
CR2 files are RAW files. Your other files are jpegs, I assume?

Does the camera keep different settings for image quality for different shooting modes. I'd check that...

chicodude

The Spooninator
Mar 28, 2004
Paradise
CR2 files are RAW files. Your other files are jpegs, I assume?

Does the camera keep different settings for image quality for different shooting modes. I'd check that...
Yea, Now that I look at it, I guess with this body in the auto sport mode (Which I was shooting with today for most of the day) I don't have a choice to shoot in raw. Hmmm....

I still am worried about my camera freaking out on me now

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
Don't use auto modes, it doesn't help teach you what the camera is doing. If you're shooting RAW, the goal is to have some control over the process, right? So why not take that control from the start and shoot in aperture or shutter priority? Easier than manual and you start seeing what the camera is doing.

I'm not completely suprised that auto sports mode has a built in setting for JPG. You can take a lot more frames of JPG than RAW before the camera buffer gets filled.

narlus

Eastcoast Softcore
Staff member
Nov 7, 2001
behind the viewfinder