Quantcast

Camp Tamarancho - Fairfax CA

OGRipper

back alley ripper
Feb 3, 2004
NORCAL is the hizzle
One of my favorite trail rides in Marin, Camp Tamarancho has a sweet network of trails on land owned by the Boy Scouts. It has an incredible variety of terrain for a relatively short loop. It is classic technical singletrack, not much in the way of jumps or other man-made stuff but super fun. I was out there Saturday on a solo ride, so I decided to bring my camera and play around with it. (I am a total novice photog, so give me a break eh?)

Local mtb/trail organizations worked closely with the Boy Scouts to develop this network with the intent that, unlike much of Marin, bikes would be allowed on the tight singletrack. In a land where bikes are usually kept off the singletrack, the irony of this sign is not lost:

The network is basically a large loop with a few different ways to connect in and out. The route most people do starts with a road climb out of Fairfax, then you hit the Alchemist trailhead and continue climbing through a series of tight switchbacks until you reach the main loop. Once there you can go in either direction. On saturday I had plenty of time so I did the loop one way, then turned around and did it the other way before heading back down Alchemist and back to Fairfax. When we do this as a night ride, we go about 3/4 of the way around before heading up to some clandestine singletrack that eventually dumps out at the bottom of the Repack trail.

Heading up, just off the road:

After climbing/rolling under tree cover for a while the trail opens onto an exposed area. It's usually pretty hot and dry out there - although it's only May, the grass that was bright green a month ago is already brown:

After that you shoot down a fun, loose descent back into the canyon, then climb back out. At this point the trail gets a bit rocky: