Quantcast

Can a bash ring be run with these?

Discussion in 'The Shop' started by Da Peach, Dec 19, 2012.

  1. Da Peach

    Da Peach Outwitted by a rodent

    Rep/Likes:
    118 / 1,310
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    12,360
    Location:
    North Van

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. Da Peach

    Da Peach Outwitted by a rodent

    Rep/Likes:
    118 / 1,310
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    12,360
    Location:
    North Van
    The answer appears to be no.
     
  3. buildyourown

    buildyourown Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,857
    Location:
    South Seattle
    You could, but there are challenges. The first is the bolt pattern. It's odd. I think Blackspire and a few others make rings, but they are expensive. The second is chainline. Adding a bash to a 2 ring crank requires you to shim the bash out and use really long bolts.
     
  4. slimshady

    slimshady ¬°Mira, una ardilla!

    Rep/Likes:
    50 / 600
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,403
    Location:
    La Plata, Argentina
    Wel, if the Yeti guys can do it why won't you?



    These are regular 104mm BCD cranks. They just have a captive, proprietary nut on the chainring bolts. Just take those away, and replace for longer ones to clamp the bashguard in.

    EDIT: Found a bigger picture of the Yeti, and seems like they are running the Triples with the bashguard placed as the third ring.

    Anyway, here is the thread on Singletrack I took the info from.
     
    #4 -   Dec 20, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2012
  5. Da Peach

    Da Peach Outwitted by a rodent

    Rep/Likes:
    118 / 1,310
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    12,360
    Location:
    North Van
    Hmm. I'll hold out for triple ring, I guess.

    I am anti taco.