Quantcast

Can you run a durace cassette?

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by downhilldemon, Nov 9, 2005.

  1. downhilldemon

    downhilldemon Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Where do you live? Is this a trick Question?
    i was looking at the weight and it is 100 grams light than most. does anybody run it DH? How does it hold up?
     
    #1 -   Nov 9, 2005

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. IronJim

    IronJim Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains
    ive got some friends that do and they love it. they have all had them for about a year and there in perfect condition. i would run one but i dont have that kind of money to drop on a cassette.
     
    #2 -   Nov 9, 2005
  3. overtheedge

    overtheedge Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    burbank ca.
    you will probably end up having to run a road derailer as well depending how small the cassette is. i've been running a durace cassette (12/25) w/ ultegra derailer for over a year and its been holding up fine.
     
    #3 -   Nov 9, 2005
  4. marlopez

    marlopez Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    West LA
    yes u can. see my sig. im selling a casette, derailleur, chain, and shifter! all dura ace. the shifter is xtr
     
    #4 -   Nov 9, 2005
  5. Bikerpunk241

    Bikerpunk241 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Messages:
    766
    I've run them before, work great! I suggest a 38t Ring with 11-23 cass.
     
    #5 -   Nov 9, 2005
  6. IronJim

    IronJim Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains
    all of my friends who use them either have a X.0 or an XTR so you dont have to us a road der.
     
    #6 -   Nov 9, 2005
  7. Bicyclist

    Bicyclist Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    10,159
    Location:
    SB
    You can run it with any 9 speed derailleur you want, but a short or medium cage derailleur would be optimal. Just make sure you don't get a 10-speed cassette.
     
    #7 -   Nov 9, 2005
  8. TheInedibleHulk

    TheInedibleHulk Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,890
    Location:
    Colorado
    I've got a dura-ace on my slalom bike and an ultegra on my dh, reliability is not an issue. The only cassettes Ive ever seen break are plastic s-rams and really cheap shimanos with huge low gears. You can run any old derailleur you want, but why wouldnt you want a short cage or road derailleur?
     
    #8 -   Nov 9, 2005
  9. dexter

    dexter Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 29
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,942
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    i run em with xo
     
    #9 -   Nov 9, 2005
  10. buildyourown

    buildyourown Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,857
    Location:
    South Seattle
    I have been running Ultegra on my DH bike all year. I held off on the Dura-ace for cost reasons.
    I've come to love the tight gearing. It really bugs me to ride DH with a standard mountain cassette.
     
  11. DHCorky

    DHCorky Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    516
    Location:
    Headed to the lift...
    I have not run anything except a road cassette for four years now. I have always used XT or X:9 derailluers.
     
  12. MtnbikeMike

    MtnbikeMike Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,640
    Location:
    The 909
    Just make sure it's 9-speed. ;)