Quantcast

Career in the bike industry

joe99

Chimp
Jul 7, 2006
Hi, I’m an industrial design graduate and have just finished a placement at Nicolai where I was developing frames, the GCON standard and G-boxx’s. My ambition is to be designer within the bike world; does anyone have any advice how to best go about doing this please? I intend to mail my portfolio to companies and keep my eyes open for vacancies.

Cheers - Joe

patineto

The RM Mad Scientist
Feb 19, 2002
berkeley, ca
keep in mind the Old bicycle store joke...

"How do you make a million dollars on the bike industry.... ??

you start with Two million"

as a Industrial my self I can tell you that is far better fields in the design world to make a career but I also understand your atraction to bicycles since they are so simple at first glance but so complex and fasinating if you really look at them in deep...

patineto

The RM Mad Scientist
Feb 19, 2002
berkeley, ca
w00dy said:
You might want to leave that nicolai thing out of your portfolio, though.
what are you taking about...??

for sure Nicolai design does not have much Bling, but at the same time is one of the few bike design companies that really push the boundries of the performance possibilities (i do accept linkages are some how anticuated) any good designer or engenier will be proud to work at..

Ciaran

Fear my banana
Apr 5, 2004
So Cal
bluebug32 said:
Don't give up on your dream. I'm a hopelessly underpaid starving artist. You'll get used to the taste of canned food and cereal...it just takes time.
Well said. Sometimes what you do is far more important than what you make. Heck, I just gave up a nice cushy job to follow my crafts and my art. (Thank God the wife has a decent job!) I am broke but I am sooooo much happier.

:thumb:

You must spread some Reputation around before giving it to bluebug32 again.
I would so approve if I could!

sanjuro

Tube Smuggler
Sep 13, 2004
SF