Quantcast

Chain chain chain

Orvan

Mar 5, 2002
Califor-N.I.A.
Ah hello
I'm kinda new to the sport of cross country riding and I want to know how many required chain links I need to run on a typical 46-34-22 chainring - 11-32 cog combo? I'd like to save as much chain links as possible to save weight... Any input? What about the nickle plated links? Are they light?

:devil:

BMXman

I wish I was Canadian
Sep 8, 2001
Victoria, BC
Originally posted by Orven
Ah hello
I'm kinda new to the sport of cross country riding and I want to know how many required chain links I need to run on a typical 46-34-22 chainring - 11-32 cog combo? I'd like to save as much chain links as possible to save weight... Any input? What about the nickle plated links? Are they light?

Bastard!:D

Orvan

Mar 5, 2002
Califor-N.I.A.
Originally posted by BMXman

Bastard!:D
dude I swear! I'm running 1.75" tires already on my HT and I think the TDF Limited Edition DuraAce chain is putting way too much weight on my bike....

I'm preparing for the BrianHead Epic this weekend so I need to put the bike on diet.. I also got rid of the traditional grips on my handlebar to save more weight.
Chainstay length is 16" if that helps any..

El Jefe

Dr. Phil Jefe
Nov 26, 2001
OC in SoCal
Oh Orven. Good god man. Everyone knows that the SRAM PC-89 chain is much lighter than the Dura-Ace. ;)

You gonna be around this weekend? A bunch of us from that other board are riding Tunnel in Santa Barbara on Saturday. Let me know if you want in.

Orvan

Mar 5, 2002
Califor-N.I.A.
Anyone know how I can keep the paint to stay on on my chain? I like to sray paint it with clearcoat so it looks shiny and new..