Quantcast

Chef's, cooks, and of the like

Jay_Reemin

Chimp
Nov 9, 2005
Hey guys/gals,

I'm new to the lounge, but it looks like anything goes so I'm posing a question to my fellow Chef's. I'm in the process of figuring out what I want to be "when I grow up" and I'm considering the avenue of Chefhood. I've done the past 6 years in the military as an administrative personnel and got out to go to college, I've completed my associates degree but every avenue I look down with my future binoculars seems un-interesting. The other day I was given an opportunity to learn how to cook at a restaurant. Starting off at the bottom of course, and I was just looking for a "job" but...started to remember a good friend in HS. He came from nothing, broken home, mom was never around, and I had hooked him up with a job at Perkins washing dishes. To make a long story short, he ended up working his way through the ranks so to speak, went to the culinary art school in Portland, OR, and now manages a restaurant in Tahoe. He stuck with it, it took him a good 10 years but he loves cooking, and because of the knowledge he earned along the way, and his dedication, he makes decent $$$ doing what he loves(*Key to life). I was just curious as to what it takes to become a chef these days, schooling, day to day experiences, job outlook, etc. It sounds like a great way to make a living and I wanted to hear what you experienced Chef's have to say about it.

Cheers
Future Chef boy R D

splat

Nam I am
Bacon ! Cook lots of Bacon!!! everything is better with Bacon!

While I don't know Much about the Cluinary Arts industry, do you have a Wife , kids House ? Any REAL responsibilities ? If Not then Go for it ! , what have you got to lose ?

and After all Burger King is always Hiring . JK

Jay_Reemin

Chimp
Nov 9, 2005
splat said:
Bacon ! Cook lots of Bacon!!! everything is better with Bacon!