Quantcast

Choosing a DH bike

Hotpants

Chimp
Aug 7, 2015
Noob here! So be easy on me....

I have decided to cross the pond from XC to DH biking. I need few opinions on these three bikes that I have narrowed down to.
All three are the same asking price (2000) with similar wear and tear and components.
2012 Yeti 303 RDH large
2010 Trek Session 8 med
2013 Marin Team DH med

I am 5.8. I have test rode the Yeti and it did not feel too big at all. It was only in a parking lot, trails might be a different story.

In your general opinion which would be the best option?
Thanks for the input.

yd35

Monkey
Oct 28, 2008
NY
What kind of builds are we talking here? TBH, 2000 for those bikes sounds like a bit much to me.

Hotpants

Chimp
Aug 7, 2015
[COLOR=rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.701961)]Trek:
[/COLOR]

Specs include :
Trek session 8 frame, medium, 8" travel
RockShox boxxer world cup 2009
Fox DHX 4 rear shock
Shimano XT brakes
Sram X9 derailleur
Fr32 alexrims, SunRingle rear hub
Truvativ crank + MRP chainguide
Kona pedals
Italia saddle
FSA bars, bontrager seatpost, ODI grips
[COLOR=rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.701961)]
Marin:

Specs:

2013 Marin Team DH frame
Rock Shox Boxxer R2C2
DSP Dueller rear shock with titanium spring (new)
FSA headset
Easton Havoc stem
Easton Havoc carbon bar
XTR shifter
Saint brakes (new)
Ice Tech rotors
Lizard Skin grips
Atomlab rims/DT Swiss 440 hubs (rear rim is new)
Maxxis DHF/DHR tires
E.thirteen crankset/BB
E.thirteen LG1+ chain guide
KMC gold chain
XT cassette
Saint rear derailleur
Crank Brothers seat post
Chromag saddle
[/COLOR]

Yeti 303 RDH:

The Boxxer is a 2010 R2C2 I believe, it was purchased in new/unused condition as a floor model from a bike shop on the east coast. It currently has a medium spring installed.
The rest of the components were purchased new in the spring of 2013.

Brakes - Saint
Rotors - Shimano XT
Wheels - Easton Havoc DH
Tires - Maxxix Minion DH-F and DH-R Both in 26 x 2.5"
Head set - Hope
Stem - Blackspire Das Stem Direct mount