Quantcast

Competing in my first (mini) triathlon, could use some tips.

baldingboy

Chimp
Jun 8, 2012
Hey everyone,

I'm a college student and I usually only ride recreationally. I have a pretty strong base of endurance and strength, but recently my girlfriend challenged me by saying that I was not in good enough shape to participate in and finish a triathlon. (Not a full-length traditional triathlon, the distances are cut significantly.) I admit, I'm probably not quite there right now.

If I win the bet, she has agreed to buy me a new bike. But I need some serious help, as the triathlon is coming up in October and I am not in the physical condition I need to be.

What have you found to be best for endurance training when only having time to train in short intervals? My cardio needs some work. I've recently backed/pre-ordered a product called Elevation Training Mask that I heard MMA fighters use to simulate high-altitude training; version 2.0 is being launched on Fundable (http://www.fundable.com/training-mask) and says it can reduce workouts from 60 minutes down to 20 minutes, which would be ideal because of my busy schedule. Have you used any similar products? Do you have any other tools/tips?

Thanks!

Last edited:

baldingboy

Chimp
Jun 8, 2012
Hi RUFUS,

I appreciate your compliment, backhanded though it is. This is not spam, I am just trying to send some feelers out before I spend any money on such a product. Do you have any input?

JD Risk

Chimp
Dec 27, 2007
Instead of buying that silly mask, go to your local mini mart, buy a can of skoal, throw in a lipper and run some sprints. If you can finish 10 sprints w/o puking you'll be set. I also recommend smoking while running. It simulates high-altitude training quite well. You'll be in shape in no time.

splat

Nam I am