Quantcast

Considering a Trek EX 9...

muddy beast

Turbo Monkey
Nov 26, 2005
So I started my first real mountain bike experience on an XC hardtail about 5 years ago, and later desided I wanted to do freeride and downhill more so I bought a Specialized bighit 2 years ago. Well, at 16 years old I now work at a bike shop and am allowed one bike at EP (huge discount). I've been looking into getting my first road bike (my only bike right now is the Bighit) so I can commute to work and what not, not to mention get a good work out, but I cant see how much I would use it other then getting to work...and I'm not sure if I really want to wear all sorts of roadie stuff to work, only to have to change it (And stuff I would have to buy anyhow, meaning more money). Anyhow, I think a cross country bike would make more sence for me, so I can ride to work, ride the trails, and use it to get to the mountain and take photos of my friends (I'm a photographer) when I dont feel like hucking.

So here's my problem, do you guys think a Trek EX 9 would fit my needs? I test rode the EX 8 at my shop and liked how it felt, but I'd like to have sram, X9 or up, and I like XT cranks reputation, and I also dont want to deal with carbon frame stuff, so the EX 9 seemed like the best option.

But I also like some of the Specialized bikes out there, like Stumpjumper FSRs and Epics are nice, but coming from 8 inches of sqwish in the rear, the Epic just feels to much like a hardtail for me...not to mention to racerish.

So yeah, what are your thoughs on a bike I can commute to work on, ride some hardcore XC trails *I'll probly throw some small jumps and drops in there*, and just an all around light solid bike alternative to my bighit?

Thanks!!!!!!

*P.S. feel free to add in anything you like, since I work at a shop selling bikes, its good to know extra tid-bits on bikes*

muddy beast

Turbo Monkey
Nov 26, 2005