Quantcast

Crosstraining

AZtortoise

Chimp
Nov 30, 2004
Phoenix AZ area
i am curious to know if other women crosstrain, and if so, what do you do?

personally i do weight lifting, mostly upper body exercises, plus core exercises. i had some back and shoulder pain after riding before i started lifting weights, now i feel great after rides. i also noticed my endurance has increased.

since i ride year round i lift year round, usually on alternate days. i tried adding Hatha yoga but it was too difficult to sustain(i am fast approaching 51 yrs old)and it was either drop the yoga or the weight lifting, i opted to continue lifting weights.

Rita

Heidi

Der hund ist laut und braun
Aug 22, 2001
Bend, Oregon
I do weights in my off season, and early season to build muscle up and help with bike control. Curious - why don't you do any leg weights? Weights can help with bone density since cycling doesn't really.

I know you live in AZ so there isn't much snow, but I xc ski, snowboard, and snowshoe as well.

I am ignorant about yoga, is Hatha really hard? Is there another form that you could try?

laura

DH_Laura
Jul 16, 2002
Glitter Gulch
i run 4-5 days a week, lift weights do core and lower body 3 times a week and , do yoga and pilates twice a week. however, i am rarely on my bike anymore. :( i generally go through phases of what i enjoy doing and right now i am really enjoying my running.

i'm also curious about hatha yoga. i have found that yoga is a fantastic compliment to my running and weight lifting. have you tried lighter versions of yoga, just stretching and light strength building?

TreeSaw

Mama Monkey
Oct 30, 2003
Dancin' over rocks n' roots!