Quantcast

DH Fork Suspension Data

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by PUSHIND, May 20, 2013.

  1. PUSHIND

    PUSHIND PUSH Industries (Duh)

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 28
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Colorado
    From time to time I've seen riders who have home-built data loggers on their bikes on the forums. Any chance any of you have ride data that I could get from you to import into our EMA Dyno so that I could run some simulations? Specifically looking for front fork data.

    Hit me up if so,

    Darren
    dm@pushindustries.com
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. 'size

    'size Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    9 / 245
    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,913
    Location:
    AZ
    damn, all i have is rear fork data...
     
  3. WestCoastHucker

    WestCoastHucker Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    40 / 173
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,080
    Location:
    daydreaming about a new rhythm line.....
    and i only have front forks data...
     
  4. CBJ

    CBJ Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    92 / 1,179
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    10,857
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    I only have Data

     
  5. jonKranked

    jonKranked Press Button, Receive Stupid

    Rep/Likes:
    377 / 3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    54,245
    Location:
    media blackout
    I have a datum.
     
  6. Jim Mac

    Jim Mac MAKE ENDURO GREAT AGAIN

    Rep/Likes:
    32 / 281
    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,458
    Location:
    the middle east of NY
    Message nybike1971. He built a home made data logger. Pretty sure he grabbed some data on his Boxxer.
     
  7. beaverbiker

    beaverbiker Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Santa Clara
    How much are you willing to pay for the data?
     
  8. ianjenn

    ianjenn Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    16 / 282
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SLO
    I am gonna go out on a limb and and say if its like the rest of the bike industry in every aspect then it will be about 1/4-1/10 what would be considered a fair price.....

    THATS THE ENTIRE BIKE INDUSTRY BTW
     
    #8 -   May 22, 2013
    Last edited: May 22, 2013
  9. Sandwich

    Sandwich Pig my fish!
    Staff Member

    Rep/Likes:
    68 / 829
    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    15,592
    Location:
    01776
    seriously, a data logger is what, $700 minimum? $2500 for the real deal setup?
     
  10. PUSHIND

    PUSHIND PUSH Industries (Duh)

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 28
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Colorado
    We have four on-board data loggers, so I'm not looking for this because we don't have the capability. What I was hoping for was some data samples from outside areas as well as a combination of rider types. I guess I thought this information was more readily available than what has been proven here. No worries.

    Darren
     
  11. Jeremy R

    Jeremy R <b>x</b>

    Rep/Likes:
    43 / 372
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    9,467
    Location:
    behind you with a snap pop
    Darren, I know profro on here does data acquisition, and I think he has a bunch info from Windrock. That would interesting to read for sure. Hopefully, he will get off his moto long enough to respond, but if not, send him a PM.
     
  12. nybike1971

    nybike1971 Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Niskayuna, NY
    Darren, I have some data on a Boxxer sampled at 400Hz. It's probably not very interesting as I was just testing the equipment and not riding particularly hard. I will try to put the logger box on the DH bike this weekend at the Plattekill race with a worthy test pilot. I'll send you an email.
     
  13. blindboxx2334

    blindboxx2334 Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    11 / 100
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,347
    Location:
    Wets Coast
    cause more riders than not have data loggers. right?
     
  14. jonKranked

    jonKranked Press Button, Receive Stupid

    Rep/Likes:
    377 / 3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    54,245
    Location:
    media blackout
    just out of curiosity, what kind of sensors do these kinds of units have? accelerometers?
     
  15. beaverbiker

    beaverbiker Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Santa Clara
    Yea, they all want something for nothing. You should see what big time bike manufacturers pay engineers. It's no wonder they mostly hire mostly artists. True story...a big brand manufacturer in the santa cruz area passed up on hiring a supremely qualified mechanical engineer for a high up engineering position and said they were going with some guy fresh out of art school in san francisco. this guy will now be in charge of design, manufacture, and testing of bike parts that your life could be in the hands of.
     
  16. nybike1971

    nybike1971 Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Niskayuna, NY
    I used linear potentiometers made by Active Sensors. I use stable numerical differentiation algorithms to extract velocity data from the position timecourse. Another option for sensors are LVDT; they are more expensive and require signal conditioning but are less susceptible to noise.

    I built the logger based on an Arduino board and wrote the embedded software - this is a very cheap and customizable solution; I wrote the data analysis software in MATLAB.

    I have been meaning to work on a second generation of the logger box to include a GPS, more compact packaging, and higher resolution ADC sampling at 1kHz but work keeps getting in the way and I can't seem to find the time.
     
    #16 -   May 22, 2013
    Last edited: May 22, 2013
  17. Jim Mac

    Jim Mac MAKE ENDURO GREAT AGAIN

    Rep/Likes:
    32 / 281
    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,458
    Location:
    the middle east of NY
    This is why we need to start riding together weekly!
     
  18. blindboxx2334

    blindboxx2334 Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    11 / 100
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,347
    Location:
    Wets Coast
    and this companies name isssss....?
     
  19. tacubaya

    tacubaya Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    13 / 59
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Sad but true.
     
  20. Steve M

    Steve M Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 23
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,997
    Location:
    Whistler
    Position sensors are the staple, as you can derive velocity and acceleration from the position signal as NYbike said. Some people do also run accelerometers and gyroscopes but these are a lot more common outside the bike industry, as with bikes about 99% of all the information you can easily make much use of comes from the position sensors.
     
    #20 -   May 24, 2013
    Last edited: May 24, 2013