Quantcast

Dialing in a woman's DH bike - specifically NORCO

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by bizutch, Apr 1, 2013.

1. bizutch

bizutch Delicate CUSTOM flower

Rep/Likes:
    4 / 8
    Buddy and his lady got new DH bikes. Her's is a small and she is lightweight. It's got a 300lb spring on an X Fusion rear and the front is a Rock Shox Domain. I'd say she's maybe 115? Frame is Norco Aurum.

What are their options to soften up the boingers on that bad boy? Any clue what is available. I don't have the time to research this stuff for them, but I want to point them in the right direction to get the bike as dialed in as possible.
    The more peeps riding big rigs, the better. :thumb:

I have NO experience with those two dampers or the leverage on that rear end. Had her sit on it in their drive and it doesn't look like it's at 25-30% sag, even with the preload collar spun all the way out.

#1 -   Apr 1, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2013

Please register to disable this ad.

2. scottishmark

scottishmark Turbo Monkey

Rep/Likes:
    16 / 20
    For the rear spring rate I'd start here: http://www.tftunedshox.com/info/spring_calculator.aspx

For the Domain I'd be dropping you local TF equivalent an email to see what they'd recommend. Get her actually weight though before doing anything though as, even though I'v no doubt that an expert will drop in here in 2mins, you can't do much without the basic info.

#2 -   Apr 1, 2013
  3. kazlx

kazlx Patches O'Houlihan

Rep/Likes:
    149 / 1,290
    Smaller kids and women seem to do better with an air shock IMO. I'm guessing the 300lb spring is too heavy for her.

Edit: Looks to calculate out to about a 200lb spring. Not sure if those are even available...

#3 -   Apr 1, 2013
  4. scottishmark

Rep/Likes:
    16 / 20
    Manitou do down to a 150lbs/in for a 3 inch stroke. I assume the Aurum is 3"?

#4 -   Apr 1, 2013
  5. dropmachine

dropmachine Turbo Monkey

Rep/Likes:
    7 / 10
    Air shocks.

#5 -   Apr 1, 2013