Quantcast

difference between jagwire brake/derailleur housing?

FOXROX

Turbo Monkey
Jun 23, 2007
hambur,nj
is there a difference? i am finding the brake cable for a few bucks less on ebay, and i have 20$ sitting in my paypal account.

RideDad

Chimp
Aug 28, 2009
I'm no expert, but I tried brake cable housing once and it did not work/last well. The metal strands/belts in shift cable housing run along the length of the housing. Brake cable has the strand in a tight spiral. I think that is the case with Jagwire, Shimano or about any other. Not sure why that makes such a big difference, but it did and it was also pointed out to me by a LBS mechanic.

w00dy

In heaven there is no beer
Jun 18, 2004
that's why we drink it here
Shift housing has longitudinal wires, brake is a single coil. Shift housing is also narrower.
The brake stuff is cheaper and tougher, but it changes length slightly as it bends. Don't use brake housing on any shift cable sections which will see movement, such as the front section which moves as you steer. Fixed sections on a rigid frame won't cause a problem.

Last edited:

HAB

Chelsea from Seattle
Apr 28, 2007
Seattle
Shift housing has longitudinal wires, brake is a single coil. Shift housing is also narrower.
The brake stuff is cheaper and tougher, but it changes length slightly as it bends. Don't use brake housing on any shift cable sections which will see movement, such as the front section which moves as you steer. Fixed sections on a rigid frame won't cause a problem.

What he said, though shift housing isn't necissarily narrower. It comes in both 4mm and 5mm diameters, brake housing is all 5mm. And don't use shifter housing on brakes, because you'll explode it and have no brakes. Brake housing for shifting isn't so bad, but it won't work as well as the right stuff.

DirtyMike

Turbo Fluffer
Aug 8, 2005
My own world inside my head