Quantcast

Digital SLR guys Fisheye advice?

manhattanprjkt83

Rusty Trombone
Jul 10, 2003
Nilbog
I just got my new camera (digital rebel) and i am looking at fish eye lenses. I was wondering what the difference between a $500 sigma lense is and something on ebay like this:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=30066&item=7505394468&rd=1

I am a big believer in " you get what you pay for" so i want to get something decent, but i am a rookie with this ( who intends to shoot a ton) but dont want to get something i cant make use of yet. Advice anyone...

Toshi

butthole powerwashing evangelist
Oct 23, 2001
1) sigma fisheye should be closer to $350. check b&h. is as good/bad as canon 15mm fisheye.
2) don't buy that lens. might as well have bought a point and shoot if you go that way (cheap lens + cheap fisheye adapter).

manhattanprjkt83

Rusty Trombone
Jul 10, 2003
Nilbog
So you are saying that if i get a fisheye it should not be an attachment to an existing lense, it should be its own lense in itself? Toshi, Thanks man you are gonna become my FAQ utility. ;)

hans2

Chimp
Jul 26, 2002
Boston
Tosh, are there any good lens adapters? I've got a minolta 7i and I want a wider wide angle, but the most of the reviews I've seen say they're not that good.

I'm hoping to get a dslr sometime this year so I'd probably be better off putting the money to that. Dell's selling the 300D for $600 but I'm holding out for a killer deal on the D70 with the D70s/D50 on the horizon.

WhiteRavenKS

Turbo Monkey
Aug 8, 2003
neither here nor there
tosh- do you know if canon is going to come out with a prime fisheye for digitals? i know nikon has like a 10.5mm for theirs. aside from the efs 10-22, canon doesnt have much comparable right?

my sigma 15mm 2.8 fisheye lens doesnt look all that "fishy" to me. im used to looking through my century optics death lens on my video camera though. now that's fishier than... well... something with a lot of fish.

Toshi