Quantcast

Doing my first race this weekend

Heidi

Der hund ist laut und braun
Aug 22, 2001
Bend, Oregon
Good luck Toninator!! How many miles will the course be?

My .02 cents worth - Drink lots of water before and after, stretch good before and after, and make sure you warm up and ride around before the start so the blood is flowing and the legs are working.

Most of all, HAVE FUN!!
________
Iolite Vaporizer Review

Last edited:

The Toninator

Muffin
Jul 6, 2001
High(ts) Htown
Thanks Heidi. This is my very first race ever and i am starting out in the beggener class so it is going to be a short one. Only 7 miles. I have been mtbiking for about 10 years now but have never raced. So i'm going to start out in the lowest class and get used to the sceen and move up after a few of races. im pretty well versed on the water thing but all the other advice is very helpfull,
thanks
t

Heidi

Aug 22, 2001
Bend, Oregon
Now that I know the race distance is 7 miles I want to reiterate the warm up advice. 7 miles will go VERY quickly so you don't want to start slow. I advise a 20-30 minute warm up. You will want to do a little hill climbing and sprints to get ready. It has been my experience that it takes about 3 miles or so before my heart rate settles in and I get to where I feel strong. Therefore, I ride at least 3 miles when I warm up.

Let us know how it goes.
________
BMW 501 HISTORY

Last edited:

spincrazy

I love to climb
Jul 19, 2001
Brooklyn
Originally posted by Heidi

My .02 cents worth - Drink lots of water before and after, stretch good before and after, and make sure you warm up and ride around before the start so the blood is flowing and the legs are working.

This is going to sound weird, but I it's something I read recently regarding streching before the race......