Quantcast

Downhill bike for a tall person

archeee

Chimp
Jul 17, 2011
Hey guys,

I'm looking at buying my first downhill bike but I'm running into a problem. I'm 6'7" and most bikes I'm seeing are 17" at max with a ~30" SO. My XC bike is a 21" and I have a 36" inseam. What are my options in finding a bike for my size?

Thanks and let me know if there's any information you need to help remedy my problem.

archeee

Chimp
Jul 17, 2011
huckbanzai is about 8'1" and he rides a XL V10C.
Thanks for the quick reply. That's awesome to see that there are options. Only problem is it's 3300 for the frame and I'm a broke college student. I'll continue researching my options.

gemini2k

Turbo Monkey
Jul 31, 2005
San Francisco
I'm 6'7 1/2". I've sat on several XL v-10's. They are more like extra mediums. Definitely NOT suitable for someone 6'7". My friend who has one is ~6'4" and its still too small for him. In fact I've side by side compared it to the "medium" size of my bike, and they are about the same.

The XL vp-free would be a better choice. I used to have one, rode it for a year or 2, it was certainly good enough.

But the XL FB-10 is the only think that comes close IMO for us tall freaks. It's a full 1.5 inches longer than the "XL" DHR and 2.1 inches longer than the v-10. Every other "XL" these days that I've looked at or tried is really just a large, but they're turned a large into something between a medium and a large (Evil Revolts, v-10, turner DHR, canfield F1 etc). I've discussed the bike at length and other threads, do a search or PM me.

Last edited:

archeee

Chimp
Jul 17, 2011
There was a recent thread on xl dh bikes. Problem is they were all expensive frames. Since cheap xls dont seem to exist used is your only option.
I'm looking used as it is. I would like to stay under $2000 for a complete but my max budget is around $2500.

EDIT: Thanks for all the replies everyone :)

vinny4130

Monkey
Jun 11, 2007
albuquerque