Quantcast

Drops Spook Me! How do I learn to take em?

al7barfly

Chimp
Feb 18, 2005
I've been downhilling for about 4 years now. I'm okay with steep stuff, rock gardens, jumps and speed, but I have no confidence in my abiility to take drops. Particullarly when the trail goes slightly downhill prior to the drop. I always feel like I'm going to endo hard, and then I bail out at the last second. Iv'e practiced on some loading docks, and I'm okay with that, but the trail scenerio is always different. Anyone have any tips on learning this skill?

renorider40

Monkey
Aug 22, 2005
Just get your weight right and go for it. At least thats what i do. And you will become more comfortable.

frznnomad

Turbo Monkey
Jun 20, 2005
a-town biatches
speed, ass back, no brakes, and hold on for the ride man. you just got to suck it up and do it. yeh your gonna take crashes and have hard hits but **** thats what the sport is about and you will become a better rider if you do.

S.K.C.

Turbo Monkey
Feb 28, 2005
Pa. / North Jersey
Couldn't have said it better myself...

I had a problem getting over drops last year at the Duryea Downhill in Reading. I was there with woof, and for the life of me I just couldn't seem to get the balls to take the last drop. Eventually I just went for it and scared the sh!t out of myself, but I felt sooo happy afterwards.