Quantcast

Everyday + Racing Wheels?

Bicyclist

Turbo Monkey
Apr 4, 2004
SB
So it looks like I'm going to need some new wheels relatively soon. This is my first year racing and I will be doing collegiate and USAC races, hoping to do decently and move on up the cats.

Anyways, I am stuck on what to do for wheels. I had thought about getting 2 sets of wheels (one for training, and one for racing), but if I can spend a little more on training wheels and get something race-worthy for the time being without spending a ton on carbon wheels I will probably crash on and break, that might be better. Plus the cost of carbon tubular wheels, 2 cassettes, etc. really adds up and might not make a difference for me at all since I am completely new to racing.

The new DA aluminum clinchers look like a pretty nice wheel package that should be aero-ish and worthy of training. Mavic Ksyriums aren't my favorite, and they are apparently not very aero at all (plus their freehub design kinda sucks). I guess the other option would be to lace up some Alchemy hubs or something like that onto a good aluminum rim, but I don't really know what's decent and what's not.

tl;dr any advice for aspiring racer on where to put $$ for wheels?

MtnbikeMike

Turbo Monkey
Mar 6, 2004
The 909
I wouldn't recommend using high-end wheels when you're moving through the ranks. Get something durable, like the DA clinchers, or Open Pro/DT RR 1.1 laced to the hubs of your choice.

maddog17

Turbo Monkey
Jan 20, 2008
Methuen, Mass. U.S.A.
I wouldn't recommend using high-end wheels when you're moving through the ranks. Get something durable, like the DA clinchers, or Open Pro/DT RR 1.1 laced to the hubs of your choice.
+1

my wheelset that i used for training/racing were Mavic Open Pro 4 CD's with Ultegra hubs. 32 hole, 3 lace pattern. those wheels lasted me 15 yrs without any truing at all